With six of the country’s finest young violinists competing, the richest prize for violinists in Australia culminates in two highly contested days of public performances and a final performance with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra.

Australia's richest violin scholarship

Worth over $50,000, the Dorcas McClean Travelling Scholarship for Young Violinists is Australia's richest violin scholarship. It seeks to support the musical education of outstanding young violinists at the beginning of their careers.

The scholarship is open to all violinists aged 25 and under, who have been resident in Australia two or more years. The top six entrants, chosen by a panel of prominent Australian violinists, perform in two public concert rounds before the final, where the final three entrants perform solos with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra.

View the 2016 program

The legacy of Dorcas McClean

One of Australia’s most gifted violinists, Dorcas McClean (1917–1981) began her musical studies at the age of three at the New South Wales Conservatorium. By the age of twelve, Dorcas was hailed by critics as a child virtuoso after her performance of the Finale from the Concerto No. 2 in D minor by Wieniaski in Sydney.

Shortly before her death, Dorcas McClean expressed her wish to establish a scholarship to advance the musical education of young Australian violinists. Following the bequest of her estate, the Travelling Scholarships for Violinists were established by the University of Melbourne in honour of this brilliant musician and dedicated patron of the arts.

Learn about the scholarship

Previous winners

  • Josephine Chung

    2016 winner

  • Anne-Marie Johnson

    2014 winner

  • Kana Ohashi

    2011 winner

  • Sujin Park

    2009 winner

  • Suyeon Kang

    2007 winner

  • Cameron Hill

    2005 winner

  • Vivien Jeffery

    2003 winner

  • Marlene Ito

    2001 winner

  • Chen Gu

    1999 winner

  • Sarah Curro

    1997 winner

  • Daniel Dodds

    1995 winner

  • Asmira Woodward-Page

    1992 winner

  • Adele Anthony

    1990 winner

  • Stanley Dodds

    1988 winner


The Dorcas McClean Violin Competition is proudly supported by the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra and 3MBS.

Get updates

Sign up to receive updates about Melbourne Conservatorium news, events and offers.

Sign up for e-news